Cities, Migration, and Governance: Beyond Scales and Levels

Book presentation

Research Area: Urban Government and Governance

23.05.2023 16:00 - 18:00 CEST

Felicitas Hillmann and Michael Samers will be presenting their recently edited volume "Cities, Migration, and Governance: Beyond Scales and Levels".

This volume examines how cities, migration, and urban governance are intertwined. Questioning and re-working the conceptual reliance on “scales” and “levels”, it draws on examples from both Europe and North America to conceptualize the variety of cities as re-active and pro-active within “glocal” and “socio-territorial dynamics”.

The book covers the governance of the myriad dimensions of urban life, such as work, housing, racism, Islamophobia, xenophobia, the arts, leisure, and other cultural practices, political participation, social movements, and “contentious politics” in North American and European cities. While cities might implement “integration policies,” the chapters do not necessarily assume that migrants live with the telos of “integration”, but rather conduct their lives as anyone else would, making meaning and voicing concerns under often difficult material conditions, strewn with the markers of race, religion, gender, sexuality, age, and often illegality.

Discussants: Tiziana Caponio (University of Torino) and Hilary Silver (Brown University)

After the presentation there will also be time for a Q&A.

This will be an online event using the zoom platform. Please note it will be recorded.

7am San Francisco | 9am Bogota | 3pm London | 4pm Vienna | 7.30pm New Delhi | 10pm Shanghai | 12am Sydney